Tuesday, January 26, 2010

This Week in History

The NHL All-Star Game SuperSkills Competition took place at Philips Arena January 27, 2008. The NHL’s top players showcased their skills in challenges of Fastest Skater, Hardest Shot, Breakaway Challenge, Accuracy Shooting, Puck Control Relay, and an Elimination Shootout. During this event, players are broken up by conference or world vs. North America. Points are then given to the winning conference for each challenge. The Eastern Conference won the overall event (9 points) over the Western Conference (6 points.)

Winners included:
Puck Control Relay – Shawn Horcoff (Western Conference)
Fastest Skater – Shawn Horcoff (Western Conference)
Hardest Shot - Zdeno Chara (Eastern Conference)
Most Accurate Shot - Tomas Kaberle (Eastern Conference)
Breakaway Challenge - Alexander Ovechkin (Eastern Conference)
Elimination Shootout - Dion Phaneuf (Western Conference)

No comments: